Spartanburg Jaycees Christmas Parade

"A Festival of Lights"

Tuesday, December 13th,  6:30 PM

Spartanburg's annual Christmas Parade is a celebration of the holiday season.  As the area’s largest night parade with festively lit floats, the parade is an event for all ages. Come enjoy all that downtown Spartanburg has to offer and join in the fun!  Before grabbing your prime viewing location, grab a bite to eat at one of Spartanburg's many great dining establishments or get some Christmas shopping done.  Downtown Spartanburg is like Santa’s toy bag.... there is something for everyone!

Parade History

The earliest recorded mention of Spartanburg's Christmas Parade is 1931 according to the Herald Journal archives.  Even then, the parade was a community celebration.

In 1985, the Spartanburg Jaycees assumed responsibility of organizing the parade from the Downtown Merchants Association.   The Jaycees run the parade as part of their Community Service and Leadership Development programming.

In 2006, the Jaycees made a bold decision and moved the parade from its traditional Friday morning after Thankgiving slot to the 2nd Tuesday evening in December.  The change proved to be a huge success as Spartanburg's "Festival of Lights" was born.  The parade now includes a fabulous selection of creative entries, all lit in festive holiday spirit!

The Grand Marshall

Grand Marshall of years past:

2015 - Lanie Hudson
           Miss South Carolina

2014 -   

2013 -   Lou Parris
              "The Stroller" 

2012 -    J.C. Stroble
              Famous Beacon "Caller"

2011 -    Margaret E. Park
              SC School for the Deaf and the Blind
2010 -    William R. "Bill" Cobb
              CEO / Chairman of the Board
              J M Smith Corporation
2009 -   Ingo Angermeier
             Spartanburg Regional Healthcare System
2008 -   Jimmy I. Gibbs
             President and CEO
             Gibbs International
2007 -   Patrick Allen
             04-05 PBA Player of the Year
             Tommy Jones
             05-06 PBA Player of the Year
             Billy Oatman
             PBA Rookie of the Year
             Mike Scroggins
             Three career Denny’s PBA Tour titles
             Walter Ray Williams, Jr.
             Denny’s PBA Tour’s all-time titles leader
2006 -   Shelley Benthall
             Miss South Carolina
2005 –
2004 –
2003 –  A Dickens of a Christmas
2002 –  Bud Moore
             David Pearson
2001 –  Public Safety Dept. Heads
             In recognition of 9/11

Thanks to all of our 2015 sponsors, contributors, and supporters!


   The Spartanburg Jaycees Christmas                   Parade is scheduled to
        be taped on location and aired:

              Christmas Morning
      December 25th, 6 AM - 8 AM 

For Copies of the 2015 Parade contact:

Cliff Williams
Arrgyle Multimedia

(864) 486-9482



Spartanburg Jaycees, Inc
PO Box 1547
Spartanburg SC 29304

Tel: (864) 381-8838